What can spur a tie between chocolate and more chocolate: Nutella Cupcakes.

It’s not the first time I’m baking on my own, but the last few experiences cheesed me off for some time and here I am..back with a (soft) bang! They always say baking is not difficult, but in my opinion, it’s not an easy feat too. You spend a lot of time mixing the ingredients together and a lot of time understanding your oven. That is not all of the items you need to understand, but don’t let me frighten you. If I can do it, I’m sure you can too!

So there is no special occasion for any baking today, but so what?

I’ve chanced upon Handle the Heat website while I was googling for cake flour recipes. The main reason was I wanted to finish up the remaining flour I’ve previously used to make the mango birthday cake for my mum before it goes bad. One of the recipes that has managed to tickle my taste bud visually was Nutella Cupcakes.

Today I’m going to show you what comes out of my oven and if I am successful at my attempt.

I prep all the ingredients together and mix as per the recipe on Tessa’s blog. Only thing was I didn’t want it too sweet and I’ve drop a few measurements here and there. But it still taste great to me so you can vary how sweet you want your cakes to be.

Nutella Cupcakes
Adapted from Handle the Heat who adapted from Koko Cooks who adapted from Dorie Greenspan

  • 2 cups cake flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 250g butter, softened (I use SCS brand locally, no they don’t pay me for advertising them)
  • 4/5 cup caster sugar (It’s near to 1 cup but lesser sugar makes me feel less guilty about eating it as a whole with Nutella)
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I add in a little more for my liking)
  • 3/4 cup whole milk (Marigold or HL whole milk do just fine)

Preheat oven to 220 degrees. Sift together the cake flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. I’m not sure what muffin cups you are using but since I’m already using the hard case nonstick types, I saved a lot of time lining and doing all the necessary to prevent it from sticking.

In a stand mixer (or with a hand mixer), beat the butter until soft and creamy. Add the sugar and beat for another 3 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time, beating after each addition. Beat in the vanilla.

With the mixer on low, add the dry ingredients alternately with the milk, beginning and ending with the dry mixture. Scrape down the sides of the bowl as necessary. Mix only enough for ingredients to become incorporated. Don’t overbeat the batter..which I think I did which is why it forms a volcano top. 😦

Spoon batter evenly into prepared muffin cups, filling until about 2/3 full. Bake for about 20-25 minutes, until a toothpick inserted into the cupcakes comes clean. I like mine to have a golden brown crusting so I make sure I see it visually before I deem it ready. Remove from oven, and let cool for 10 minutes. Remove cupcakes from pan and let cool completely before frosting.

Cupcakes growing up.

Nutella yay.

For the Nutella Frosting

  • 3/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup Nutella
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 Tbs milk
  • 1 cup powdered sugar

Beat butter and nutella together in the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment or with a hand mixer until combined. Add the remaining ingredients and beat on low speed until powdered sugar is incorporated. Increase speed to medium-high and beat until frosting is smooth and stable.

Unfortunately, I didn’t quite get that right, my frosting was really runny. Need to master that buttercream skill soon if I want to sell cakes for a living.

One By One.

Finale.

Although I didn’t have a fantastic outcome, I’m glad I completed the whole process and not stop halfway when I realized that I need to run to the nearest convenience store to buy another stick of butter. I didn’t succeed but it won’t stop me from another project.

Soon, people. Until the next yummy recipe comes along.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

